Canadian Firefighter Magazine

CAFC elects new president and board of directors

By CAFC   

Headlines News Hot Topics CAFC president

Oct. 11, 2022, Ottawa – The Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs announced its new president and board of directors, following its Annual General Meeting on September 14, 2022. Sworn in at the CAFC’s annual gala at the Delta Hotel in Ottawa are:

Fire Chief Ken McMullen, CAFC president
Fire Chief Keven Lefebvre, board member
Deputy Fire Chief Keri Martens, board member
Fire Chief Paul Boissonneault, board member
Deputy Fire Chief Richard Amnotte, board member
Fire Chief Greg Jones, board member
Fire Chief Peter Krich, chair of the National Advisory Council

“The association couldn’t be in better hands”, said John McKearney, now past president and 2022 Career Fire Chief of the Year.

“Chief Ken McMullen has served the CAFC board of directors selflessly for over 13 years, with 3 of those as vice president. He chairs the CAFC Mental Health Committee and the Public Safety Steering Committee of the Canadian Institutes of Public Safety Research and Treatment. He has chaired Fire Rescue Canada for over 20 years, bringing our community together for educational and networking purposes”.

“I am honoured to serve the membership and sector”, said Chief McMullen, “I am looking forward to the strides we will make on key files from advancing the concept of a national fire advisor to firefighter cancer, building codes, dangerous goods, mental health, governance, housing safety, climate adaptation and others. I’m looking forward to working with each and every one of our members, the board, staff, national advisory council, and partners”.

New board members include Chief Greg Jones of Amherst, Nova Scotia, a former member of the CAFC National Advisory Council and current president of the Firefighters Association of Nova Scotia, and Chief Paul Boissonneault of Oakville Ontario, who served as CAFC president from 2014-2016.

Returning Board members include treasurer, Data and Building Codes Committee chair, Chief Keven Lefebvre (Leduc County, Alta.), Deputy Chief Keri Martens (Canmore, Alta.) who leads CAFC’s Equity, Diversity and Inclusion files, and Deputy Chief Richard Amnotte (Laval, Que.), who is leading CAFC’s French language and membership development files.

Chief Vince MacKenzie, steps down from the CAFC Board after 13 years, to take on the role of president of the Maritime Chiefs Associations. Chief MacKenzie was awarded the inaugural president’s award. He will maintain his role as chair of the CAFC Answer the Call Committee and co-chair of the Great Canadian Fire Census.

Print this page


Stories continue below