Canadian Firefighter Magazine

OAFC awards mental health bursaries to 20 fire departments

By Ontario Association of Fire Chiefs   

Headlines News Health and Wellness fire department mental health OAFC

Sept. 1, 2023, Ajax, Ont. – The Ontario Association of Fire Chiefs (OAFC) has awarded mental health bursaries to 20 fire departments across the province.

The departments include: Alberton Volunteer Fire Department, Lanark Highlands Fire Services, Brock Township Fire, Markstay-Warren Fire Department, Chatham-Kent Fire Rescue, McMurrich-Monteith Fire Department, Elmwood Fire Department, Muskoka Lakes Fire Department, Foleyet Volunteer Fire Department, Orangeville Fire Services, Fort Erie Fire Department, Timmins Fire Department, Front of Yonge Fire Department, Toronto Pearson Fire and Emergency Services, Georgina Fire and Rescue Services, Township of Cavan Monaghan Fire Department, Goderich Fire Department, Township of Scugog Fire and Emergency Services, Grey Highlands Fire Department, and Tyendinaga Township Fire Department.

The bursaries, totalling up to $10,000, were made possible through the support of A.J. Stone and Safetek Profire, who partnered with the OAFC during the 2019 ‘Charity FUNRaising’ event to raise funds for the cause. The funding is expected to enable fire departments to participate in any mental wellness program that would offer tools and resources.

“We are thrilled to congratulate the 20 winning fire departments who will now have the opportunity to participate in a mental wellness program of their choice,” said OAFC President and Deputy Fire Chief Rob Grimwood. “These bursaries exemplify our commitment to the mental health and well-being of Ontario’s firefighters, and we are grateful for the generous support from A.J. Stone and Safetek Profire for this worthy cause.”

The selected departments will be contacted individually with further instructions on how to redeem their bursaries.

Print this page


Stories continue below