Canadian Firefighter Magazine

Members of Cochrane Fire Services awarded federal and provincial service medal

By Town of Cochrane   

Headlines News awards firefighters

Photo credit: Town of Cochrane

Jan. 19, 2024, Cochrane, Alta. – Cochrane Fire Services is celebrating some of its members for receiving both the provincially recognized Alberta Emergency Services Medal (AESM) and Bronze Bar Rosette, as well as the federally recognized Fire Services Exemplary Service Medal.

“It is such an honour to work alongside such a dedicated group of individuals who are committed to serving our community,” said Fire Chief Shawn Polley in a town press release. “I would like to personally congratulate everyone for their incredible accomplishment and remarkable years of service.”

The following are recipients of the AESM and Bronze Bar Rosette:

12-Year Medal

  • Brad Hoey, First Class Firefighter
  • Eric Paxman, Third Class Firefighter
  • Jason Hamel, First Class Firefighter
  • Kevin Demeter, First Class Firefighter
  • Matthew Cameron, Second Class Firefighter

22-Year Bronze Bar

  • Grant MacKinnon, Captain, Fire Services
  • Leanne Hall, Senior Firefighter (retired)
  • Jory Jenson, Captain
  • Shelley Shelstad Jenson, Senior Firefighter

32-Year Silver Bar

  • Rob Olenick, Lieutenant

The following are recipients of the Fire Services Exemplary Service Medal:

20 years of Exemplary Service

  • Russ Innes, Lieutenant
  • Jay Wieliczko, Captain

10 Year additional Exemplary Service

  • Harold Phillips, Senior Firefighter

Print this page


Stories continue below