Canadian Firefighter Magazine

Town of Mildmay names new district fire chief

By Pauline Kerr, Local Journalism Initiative   

Headlines News Hot Topics fire chief new hire

May 24, 2024, South Bruce, Ont. – Fire Chief Guy Gallant presented a report on new appointments to the department, for council’s approval, and presented an award to a member of the fire department.

Capt. Peter Critchfield is the recipient of the provincial long service medal. Gallant told council that this is far more than an award for 25 years of service – an accomplishment in itself.

South Bruce has appointed Tatyana Coghlin as fire prevention officer for the municipality. This is a new permanent part-time position.

Mildmay has a new district fire chief – Dave West. West has been a member of the department for over 21 years and is Brockton’s fire prevention officer. He’s currently the president and chair of the Bruce County Mutual Aid Association.


Teeswater has a new firefighter – Danielle Rozon, who has experience with the Parry Sound and McDougall fire departments, as well as being an emergency maintainer.

Print this page


Stories continue below